How to Delete a User

If you are downsizing an account and need to delete a user, you can easily do so. Here's a quick overview of the steps.


  • Users cannot have any phone numbers assigned to them before as a destination deleting them.
  • Re-Assign their phone numbers to another user and all contacts and future calls go to the new user.
  • Delete their numbers and re-assign their contacts to a new CallAction number and user.
  • Delete the user from your user account.

Here are the steps to delete a user.

Re-assign a Phone Number to Another User

  1. Login to CallAction
  2. Click on Numbers
  3. Click on Manage of number(s) of the user you want to re-assign
  4. Click on Call Settings
  5. Change the Destination to another user from the drop-down
  6. Click Save

If you want to delete both the user and their phone numbers, you'll need to re-assign the associated contacts to another phone number in your account.

Delete a User Phone Number and Re-assign Contacts to Another Number

If you delete a number, anyone who calls or text that number in the future will receive a no longer in service message and you will lose the ability to user number.

  1. Login to CallAction
  2. Click on Numbers
  3. Click on Manage of number(s) of the user you want to re-assign
  4. Click on Call Settings
  5. Click Release number at bottom of page
  6. Select another CallAction number to assign contacts to from drop-down
  7. Click Release number
  8. Click Save

Deleting a User from your Account

Once you have reassigned or deleted the phone number you can delete the user from the account.

  1. Login to CallAction
  2. Click on Profile
  3. Click on Users
  4. Verify there are Zero numbers associated to them (see above)
  5. Click on red Trash Can to delete user
  6. Click Save

Done. If you are having trouble, please feel free to user the live chat right for extra help.

Did this answer your question?